Month: February 2009

  • a great friend once shared with me something he heard: ‘saying goodbye is an art, you never know if that’s the last time you ever see them.’ it’s something i have kept very close to me for the past 5 years since i heard it from him, but never had to brave it myself until today.

    farewell, old friend. you will be so sorely missed.

    It is with great heaviness in my heart that I begin to reflect upon the life and passing of my dear friend.

    I begin by pondering where I am, in a cafe on the streets of Melbourne, where I came years ago to pursue my craft as a musician. I start to imagine where I would’ve been if it weren’t for Markus. Had he not bothered to befriend and care for his mischievous classmate who always hung out with the wrong crowd, I would never have stepped into the confines of our church, and grown to love Jesus so dearly. Were it not for his unswerving encouragement and the first few chords he taught me on the guitar, I wouldn’t have come to do what I love for a living, and to express myself so fully as a musician.

    Perhaps if I had had the patience to follow up on the few lessons he had taught me on the soccer field, I could’ve been the next Beckham or Ronaldo.

    But I believe that because I know him intimately as a friend and confidante, I can speak confidently on behalf of us who know and love him so dearly, because I know it to be true: I believe there is no one we know who is more dedicated, willing and generous with his time and commitment towards the people and causes that he cares for, and hardly anyone more genuine, sincere, and willing to be brutally honest with our shortcomings, out of his love for us that is modelled after Jesus.

    Learning and playing with Markus for so many years as a musician, and accompanying him in his journey as a songwriter and lyricist, confirmed to me his great depth as a human being. His fragility and vulnerability has taught him great resilience, to accept and recover from whatever life had to throw at him. His honesty, big heart and genuine unassuming humility, has allowed the depth of his human quality to shine so brightly among the people that he knows.

    So it is with this sombre note at the end of this process, that I fully experience and mourn the loss of a dear friend. And as his friends and family all around the world contemplate the finality of his physical passing and what it signifies, I truly believe that his life and influence will so profoundly continue in the lives of those whom he has touched.

    For this I am so proud. And as I finish my final sip of coffee here in Melbourne, here’s a toast to you, my dear friend and brother. I owe who I am now, and who I will become, to you.

    Your friend, Yee Meng.


    (written for markus’ wake service; cafenatics, qv. melbourne. 7pm 5th febuary 2009)

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories